Call for Nominations: TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi 2023 Award

The World Academy of Science is inviting nominations for the 2023 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award from all its members as well as science academies, national research councils, universities, and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.

TWAS-Fayzah award is an annual award, named after the TWAS Fellow Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi, which recognizes women scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (STL) countries. It carries a cash award of USD 4,000 generously provided by Professor Al-Kharafi and will rotate among various fields of science. In 2023 the award will be given in Social Sciences (economics, politics, sociology).

Awards: USD4,000 cash price


  • Nominations for the 2023 TWAS-Fayzah award are invited in Social Sciences (economics, politics, sociology).
  • Nominees must be female scientists national of an ST-lagging country and have been living and working there for at least two years immediately before their nomination.

Nomination Process

A nomination for the TWAS-Fayzah Award is complete only if it includes all of the following information or material:

  • Nominator contact details;
  • Nominee contact details 
  • Authorization from the nominee 
  • Suggested citation (15-20 words highlighting the nominee’s scientific achievements in Social Sciences (economics, politics, sociology);
  • Supporting statement regarding the nominee’s contribution in either Agricultural Sciences or Biology.
  • Clear and detailed account of any time spent abroad by the nominee in the past two years;
  • PhD: information on subject area, year and awarding institution;
  • Brief information on membership in academies and societies;
  • Brief information on awards and honours received;
  • List of 10 most significant publications listed in an internationally acceptable format;
  • The nominee’s brief CV and her complete list of publications
  • The nominee’s h-index in Google Scholar and its associated number of citations.
READ ALSO  ARPPIS-DAAD PhD scholarships for Africans 2020

To nominate a candidate for the TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi 2023 Award, click here.

Deadline: April 18, 2023.

For more information on TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi 2023 Award, visit the official site.

Verified by MonsterInsights