Commonwealth Shared Scholarship for Students from Developing Countries 2021

Applicants from developing countries under the Commonwealth scheme are invited to apply for the 2021 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship for Students from Developing Countries.

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and UK universities to support students from developing Commonwealth countries.

The aim of the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme (CSSS) is to assist students from developing Commonwealth countries who are of excellent academic caliber but for financial reasons would not otherwise be able to afford to study in the United Kingdom. The scheme allows them to benefit from postgraduate study at a university in the United Kingdom which will help them to contribute toward the development of their home countries.

This scholarship is for taught Master’s programs only. Subjects must be related to the economic, social, and technological development of a candidate’s country.

Duration: one-year


The award will cover

  • tuition fees,
  • maintenance allowance,
  • economy air travel to and from the UK at the beginning and end of the scholar’s degree program, and
  • additional discretionary allowances.

To be considered for the CSSS scholarship, applicants must

  • be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British Protected Person;
  • be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country;
  • not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country;
  • be available to start their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2021;
  • by September 2021, hold a first degree of either first or upper second class (2:1) classification, or lower second class (2:2) classification plus a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree);
  • be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship;
  • apply for admission to UCL for one of the eligible programs.
READ ALSO  LSE and UCT MSc Scholarship in Global Media and Communications
Application Process
  • Interested applicants must separately apply for admission to UCL for one of the eligible programs through the standard admissions procedure.
  • They must apply for the scholarship on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission Electronic Application System (EAS) online following the procedures described on their website.

To apply for this scholarship, click here.

Application Deadline: April 9, 2021.

For more information and application, visit the official site.