Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme: Experts in HIV Service Delivery

The Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme: ”Experts in HIV Service Delivery” fellowship applications for the round of 2022-2024 are welcome. Clinicians having at least two years of clinical experience working in Sub-Saharan Africa are invited to apply.

Many African countries face an unmet need in the training of medical practitioners who want to become specialized in HIV. HIV medicine sub-specialization is not attractive for many young healthcare professionals, which is in sharp contrast to the need for such specialized personnel and leadership in the hardest-hit countries in sub-Saharan Africa.

The Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme, an initiative of the IAS Educational Fund, is aimed at contributing to improving the quality of HIV service delivery in resource-limited settings by providing two-year fellowships to clinicians from sub-Saharan Africa, who will spend one year in Europe and one year in Africa at clinical institutions. The programme will offer in-depth training for clinicians committed to careers in HIV clinical service delivery in sub-Saharan Africa with the aim of strengthening access to high-quality services for sub-Saharan Africa populations, with a client-centred service delivery approach.

Duration: 2 years


The Experts in HIV Service Delivery fellowship awards include

  • Tuition fee for each programme year
  • Traveling stipend for each institution
  • Accommodation cost
  • Living expenses


To be eligible for the Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme, candidates should meet the following requirements:

  • Terminal research degree as a medical doctor (or equivalent)
  • Minimum of two years’ clinical experience
  • Currently working in sub-Saharan Africa
  • Commitment to become a specialist in HIV
  • English, French or Portuguese speaking.

Application Process

To apply for Mark Wainberg Fellowship Programme: Experts in HIV Service Delivery, click here.

READ ALSO  AREF Research Development Fellowships for Africans 2021/22

Deadline: February 20, 2022.

For more information, visit the official site.

Verified by MonsterInsights