Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships for the 2022/2023 Academic Year

Applications are open for the 2022/2023 Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) for students in low or middle-income Commonwealth countries.

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) offers a unique opportunity to study for a two-year Master’s degree in a low or middle-income Commonwealth country.

Aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities, the scholarships are a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, broaden horizons, and build a global network that will last a lifetime.

Through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to the shared challenges we face – both in their home countries and those that host them. As an active part of the Commonwealth network, scholars will help shape its future.

Duration: 2 years


Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships offers:

  • Fully-funded tuition fees
  • Living allowance (stipend) for the duration of the award
  • Return economy flights to their host country
  • An arrival allowance
  • (Research support grant – on request only; subject to approval)


Applicants for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships must meet the following requirements:

  • Citizens (or those who hold refugee status) in a Commonwealth country are welcome to apply.
  • Applicants must apply for a QECS award in a country other than their home country/country of citizenship.
  • Have a 4-year Bachelor’s Degree
  • Applicant must have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1 at the time of application.
  • Applicants are required to submit a university application at the same time as their scholarship application. 
  • There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award.
  • Applicants cannot apply for an award in their home country/country of citizenship as this is an international program.
READ ALSO  AfOx Kennedy Trust Prize Studentship for 2022/2023 Academic Session

Selection Criteria

The selection committee assesses applications using four key criteria:

  • Academic history/references
  • Plan of Study
  • Development Impact and Post-Study Outreach
  • Creating Networks

Application Process

To be considered for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships, applicants must submit all required application materials:

  • The application form consists of the following sections:
  • Eligibility
  • Personal Details
  • Academic & Employment Record
  • A course at the host university details
  • Statements
  • Upload supporting documents (including references)

Deadline: January 29, 2022.

For more information on Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships, visit the official site.