TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award for Women Scientists 2021

Nominations are currently ongoing for the 2021 TWAS- Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award for women Scientist in the least Developed Countries.

TWAS- Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award is an annual award named after the TWAS fellow Samira Omar. This Award with a cash price of USD 4,000 from Professor Omar recognizes scientists from Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and will honor a woman scientist currently in an area relevant to sustainability.

This year’s nomination is open to all TWAS members, Science Academies, Natural Research Councils, Universities, and Science Institutions in Developing and Developed Countries. Self-nominations will not be considered.

Award: USD 4,000

The TWAS- Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award 2021 award will be awarded to women scientists, who are citizens of a Least Developed Country (LDC), living and working in the least Developed Country LDC for the past two years before the nomination, based on the scientific achievements on any of the thematic areas below:

  • Water purification and sanitation
  • Sustainable agriculture and agrobiodiversity
  • Clean and renewable energy
  • Green chemistry
  • Plastic: degradation, pollution, and microplastics
  • Transportation technologies: efficiency for smart cities
  • Climate change: environmental effects, methane contribution, carbon capture
  • Waste management
  • Ecological economics and planetary health
  • Biodiversity: the sixth mass extinction, ecosystem services, habitat recovery, and restoration.
Nomination Process
For a nomination to the Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award to be considered and regarded as complete, the following information is needed
  • Nominator contact details
  • Brief information on membership in academies and societies;
  • Nominee’s brief cv and her complete list of publications are also to be uploaded, separately, onto the online platform.
  • Nominee contact details;
  • General information on the nominee;
  • Authorization from the nominee
  • Brief information on awards and honors received;
  • List of 10 most significant publications listed in an internationally acceptable format;
  • The nominee’s h-index in Google Scholar and the associated number of citations.
READ ALSO  Green Talents German Award for International Graduate Students 2021 (Fully funded)

For detailed info on how to nominate, click here.

Deadline: May 12, 2021.

For more information and application, visit the official site.

Verified by MonsterInsights